Monday, October 09, 2006

M3. What a Peach

All this for Peanuts

The University System of Georgia

Statewide Network

The USA state of Georgia has a land and water area of 154,077 square kilometers. The 25 member EU is 25.8 times the size of Georgia. Georgia is 2/3 larger than Portugal. Georgia, however, is not very densely populated and it has only about 8.2 million people, 23 % less than Portugal.

A Board of Regents oversees all public colleges and universities in the University System of Georgia. The University System of Georgia's Board of Regents was created in 1931 as a part of a reorganization of Georgia's state government. With this act, public higher education in Georgia was unified for the first time under a single governing and management authority. The governor appoints members to the Board, who each serve seven years. Today the Board of Regents is composed of 18 members (biographies), five of whom are appointed from the state-at-large, and one from each of the 13 congressional districts. The Board elects a chancellor who serves as its chief executive officer and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

The University System of Georgia offers students higher education options at 35 colleges and universities throughout the state, providing a wide range of academic programming, including certificates, associate, baccalaureate, master's, doctoral and professional degrees: 4 research universities, 2 regional universities, 13 state universities, 7 state colleges, and 9 two-year colleges. These institutions enroll more than 233,000 students and employ more than 9,000 faculty and 35,000 employees to provide teaching and related services to students and the communities in which they are located.

The nine articles, with a total of 33 sections, of the Bylaws of the Board of Regents.

The Board of Regents, Academic Affairs, and Administrative and Fiscal Affairs Organization Charts.

No comments: